The Full Wiki

More info on Death Troopers

Death Troopers: Misc

Advertisements
  
  

Starwars

Up to date as of February 04, 2010

From Wookieepedia, the Star Wars wiki.

Death Troopers
Attribution
Author(s)

Joe Schreiber

Cover artist

Indika

Publication information
Publisher

Del Rey

Release date

October 13, 2009

Media type

Hardcover

Pages

265

ISBN

0345509625

Chronology
Era

Rise of the Empire era

Timeline

1 BBY

Series

None (standalone novel)

Preceded by

Han Solo and the Lost Legacy

Followed by

Death Star

"It's going to be very scary[...]'"
―Joe Schreiber

Death Troopers is a novel by Joe Schreiber that was released on October 13, 2009.[1] It takes place about a year before A New Hope.

Contents

Comments by Joe Schreiber

"I had the time of my life on this one, I have to say. I’m doing the final edits now, and I’ve tried to make it into exactly the kind of book you’d want to read if you were a child of the 70s who grew up with the original Star Wars trilogy and really digs horror in the vein of The Shining and Alien, with a little dose of William Gibson mixed in.''"
―Joe Schreiber

Publisher's summary

Advertisements

Back cover

No fate could be more terrifying than being trapped in deep space.

Unless there's something unknown out there with you.

Internal flap

When the Imperial prison barge Purgetemporary home to five hundred of the galaxy's most ruthless killers, rebels, scoundrels and thieves — breaks down in a distant, uninhabited part of space, its only hope seems to lie with a Star Destroyer found drifting, derelict and seemingly abandoned. But when a boarding party is sent to scavenge for parts, only half of them come back — bringing with them a horrific disease so lethal that within hours, nearly all aboard the Purge will die in ways too hideous to imagine.

And death is only the beginning.

The Purge's half-dozen survivors — two teenage brothers, a sadistic captain of the guards, a couple of rogue smugglers and the chief medical officer, the lone woman on board — will do whatever it takes to stay alive. But nothing can prepare them for what lies waiting onboard the Star Destroyer amid its vast creaking emptiness that isn't really empty at all. The dead are rising, soulless, unstoppable, and unspeakably hungry.

Appearances

By type
Characters Creatures Droid models Events Locations
Organizations and titles Sentient species Vehicles and vessels Weapons and technology Miscellanea

Characters


Dramatis personae

Other characters

Creatures

Droid models

Events

Locations

Organizations and titles

Sentient species

Vehicles and vessels

Weapons and technology

Miscellanea

Behind the scenes

On September 10, 2009, the tie in Death Troopers: Recovered Messages from Purge was released over various Star Wars fan sites.

On October 12, 2009, Star Wars Galaxies released an update in which players could interact with the Death Troopers story.

"After a mysterious turn of events the Empire has mustered an enormous military presence in a remote location on Dathomir. Imperial High Command has issued a travel warning to notify citizens to avoid travel to the planet if possible. Citizens that cannot avoid travel to Dathomir should be aware that certain locations are now considered restricted areas. Unauthorized travel by citizenry to these restricted areas may result in fines, arrest or both. While rumors have circulated that restricted areas are being used to contain a biological threat, no official report has been confirmed or denied by High Command."[2]

Cover gallery

Wookieepedia has a collection of images related to Death Troopers.

Notes and references

See also

External links


This article uses material from the "Death Troopers" article on the Starwars wiki at Wikia and is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike License.

SWG Wiki

Up to date as of February 04, 2010

From SWG Wiki

Novel Cover
Death Troopers Promo Art
A Death Trooper
Death Troopers and Undead
The Undead are coming!
Shoot the head!
Have a bad feeling about this..

Table of contents

Overview

Star Wars Galaxies is introducing a quest series into the game based on the Random House novel Death Troopers by Joe Schreiber, released on October 13, 2009. The Death Troopers series of adventures will mark the first time that the Star Wars Galaxies game has introduced content inspired by a current novel and given gamers and Star Wars fans the chance to live out these adventures together online. Players can join together to fight horrific new enemies with a frightening affliction.

Canon

So far, it is believed to be canon and with the probability that it was based on the Darkhorse Comic strip "Planet of the Dead", a comic based on a planet in which Solo and Chewbacca face "zombies". This takes place on Dathomir, at the Quarantine Zone for which a new in-game starport has been created with Game Update 13.

In GU13, players received Jabba's Comlink as a chapter gift that would lead them to Bib Fortuna and the quest Something is Obviously Wrong. This quest had players exploring mysterious disappearances of various biologists and the links that they had with a mysterious new Quarantine Zone that Imperial High Command had set up on Dathomir.

Game Update 14 - Death Troopers

With the addition of Game Update 14 vast quantities of new content was added in to the game that takes place inside the Quarantine Zone.

After a mysterious turn of events the Empire has mustered an enormous military presence in a remote location on Dathomir. Imperial High Command has issued a travel warning to notify citizens to avoid travel to the planet if possible. Citizens that cannot avoid travel to Dathomir should be aware that certain locations are now considered restricted areas. Unauthorized travel by citizenry to these restricted areas may result in fines, arrest or both. While rumors have circulated that restricted areas are being used to contain a biological threat, no official report has been confirmed or denied by High Command.

There are several new quests, NPCs, badges and collections to discover:

Quests

Collections

Slayer

Badges

File:Quarantine Badges.jpg

Loot

Lots of new loot has been introduced with the new update. Each Undead Boss drops a specific Death Trooper themed item or schematic, and rotting body parts can be looted from various undead (these body parts are the ingredients needed to create the items from the schematics that Undead Bosses drop). There is a deconstructable full suit of Death Trooper armor that can be looted in pieces from any Death Trooper (the armor comes in two kinds, Basic and Standard, which are deconstructable, you can also find Destroyed armor which cannot be worn, but is required to create items from the schematics that Undead Bosses drop). Also there is:

Sources


This article uses material from the "Death Troopers" article on the SWG Wiki wiki at Wikia and is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike License.

Advertisements






Got something to say? Make a comment.
Your name
Your email address
Message